The Tiger as the National animal

The Tiger as the National Animal of India symbolizes the power, strength, elegance, alertness, intelligence and endurance of the nation. The Royal Bengal Tiger has been featured in Indian currency notes as well as postage stamps.

After Independence India adopted Lion as their National animal due to the fact that lion capital of the Ashoka Pillar at Sarnath (300 BC) was adopted as the National emblem. In 1972 this day, the tiger became India’s national animal, replacing the lion that had ruled for over 2,000 years.

Why Tiger replaced Lion?

Lion being the king of jungle was only limited to one or two states while tigers roams all over India in as many as 16 states so our Nation decided tigers are the true king of our forests. It is said that India holds over half the world’s tiger population.Our Nation chose Tiger not only because of its population, but also due to out ancestors believed it symbolizes the unlimited power to protect the virtue and destroy evil. 

8 Species of Tigers

There are eight subspecies of tigers -Royal Bengal tiger, Indo-Chinese, Sumatran, Siberian, Caspian, South china, Java and Bali. Today Caspian Java and Bali doesn’t due to their extinction.

Endangered species now

The tiger needs vast uninhabited areas for its survival. But decrease of forest cover leading to loss of habitat and poaching are the two biggest threats that are driving the number of Royal Bengal Tigers towards being tagged endangered by the IUCN Red List. The illegal trade in tiger skin and huge market for tiger bones and teeth for medicinal purposes fuel the gangs of poachers. 

With the launch of Project tiger in 1973, various tiger reserves were created in different parts of the country with the main aim to create a safe haven and ideal environment for the survival and growth of tigers. But as per survey it is said that 97% of population compared to last century. Owing to the project, the number of tigers is estimated to be around 2600 and to be improved to 3000 by the end of 2019. Hope Our national animal doesn’t face the extinction.

47 thoughts on “The Tiger as the National animal

Add yours

    1. I don’t think so… I heard local people actually celebrated the death of Avni.. as it was a reason of 13 killings already.. In their perspective that’s right… as saving people is more important to them..
      I think they could have caught the tiger alive and moved it to a different place for everyone’s safety.. People only react on present situation doesn’t care about the future I suppose..

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Amazing Chiru……wow……….this post was worth reading………….

    Definitely I gained something reading this………….

    Sarnath is at two kilometres distance from my house……. whenever I visit I make sure to visit that museum where our National Email is kept……………

    And it’s sad that tigers are on the verge of extinction but our govt. Is definitely taking care of it………….

    Very nice post…………
    Thanks a lot for boosting up my G.K

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank for such a nice gesture Chiru but I was not correcting you I was correcting mistake in a comment that I have given on this post……….but that comment some how disappeared hahahahahah I don’t know why.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. No no no no I was not correcting you hahahahahahahahah I commented on this post I don’t know why it is not showing in that comment I saw my mistake that inspite of natianal emblem it was written national email…….so I commented it so that you can get it write……..I was not correcting you buddyyy….. hahahahahahahahahah…… I don’t know why that comment disappeared……….

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started